Sullivan Set

Sullivan Set (3-part ensemble)

8 favourites from Gilbert and Sullivan operettas


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Oboe
  • Part 3: Clarinet in B-flat

Standard: Intermediate

Keys, note ranges and technical challenges suited to players of ABRSM Grade 4 – 5 standard or above.  Requires confidence in sustaining an independent part.


  • Dance a Cachucha (The Gondoliers)
  • Prithee, Pretty Maiden (Patience)
  • The Sentry’s Song (Iolanthe)
  • Never Mind the Why and Wherefore (HMS Pinafore)
  • If we’re Weak Enough to Tarry (Iolanthe)
  • A Paradox (The Pirates of Penzance)
  • I Built upon a Rock (Princess Ida)
  • I am the Very Model of a Modern Major-General (The Pirates of Penzance)

Hear some snippets – (Youtube video opens in a new window)

The download includes 3 PDF files:

  • Complete set of parts for each instrument
  • Scores – transposing and concert pitch for complete set
  • Useful extras – cover sheet, contents list, information on the pieces.

From these, you can decide what to print out, depending on your particular circumstances.  Do keep a back-up of all three files for future reference!