Starters For Four

Starters For Four (4-part ensemble)


  • Part 1:  Flute
  • Part 2:  Oboe/Flute
  • Part 3:  Clarinet in B-flat
  • Part 4:  Clarinet in B-flat

Standard – EASY

Notes and technical challenges well within the range of ABRSM Grade 1 – 2 players.  Simple and supported rhythms.  Occasionally, more challenging rhythms occur, but only in tunes that are likely to be familiar to the players.

Individual parts are not particularly demanding, so that players can concentrate on the ensemble aspects of performance.


  • Three Rounds
  • Skip to my Lou
  • Reel of Tullochgorum
  • Down in Demerara
  • The Big Rock Candy Mountain
  • Block
  • Prithee Pretty Maiden
  • Spring (Vivaldi)
  • Skye Boat Song
  • Will ye no Come Back Again.

The download includes three PDF files:

  • Score (transposing) and parts for each tune
  • Concert pitch scores for the complete set
  • Useful extras – cover sheet, contents list, guidance notes

Depending on your particular circumstances, you may not wish to print all the material – but do keep a back-up of all three files for reference and future use!