Onwards and Upwards

Onwards and Upwards (3-part ensemble)


  • Part 1:  Flute
  • Part 2:  Clarinet in B-flat
  • Part 3:  Clarinet in B-flat  OR  Part 3:  Bassoon

Standard – IMPROVER

Notes and technical challenges within the range of ABRSM Grade 2 – 3 players.  Parts are more independent than in the easy-level sets, making greater demands in terms of counting skills and confidence.

Individual parts are relatively straightforward, so that players can concentrate on the ensemble aspects of performance.


  • Cockles and Mussels
  • Vesper Hymn
  • My Bonnie
  • Chill out Woodpecker!
  • March from Pirates of Penzance
  • Irish Washerwoman
  • Sailor’s Hornpipe
  • Land of the Silver Birch
  • Dixie
  • Country Gardens

Hear some snippets (YouTube video – opens in new window)

The download includes three PDF files:

  • Score (transposing) and parts for each tune
  • Concert pitch scores for the complete set
  • Useful extras – cover sheet, contents list, guidance notes

Depending on your particular circumstances, you may only wish to print out some of the material – but do keep back-up copies of all three files for reference or future use!