Onwards and Upwards Classical

Onwards and Upwards Classical

(3-part ensemble)


  • Part 1:  Flute
  • Part 2:  Clarinet in B-flat
  • Part 3:  Clarinet in B-flat  OR  Part 3:  Bassoon

Standard – IMPROVER

Notes and technical challenges within the range of ABRSM Grade 2 – 3  players.  Parts are more independent than in the easy-level sets, making greater demands in terms of counting skills and confidence.

Individual parts are relatively straightforward, so that players can concentrate on the ensemble aspects of performance.


  • Minuet (attrib JS Bach)
  • German Dance (Hummel)
  • Minuet (Tischer)
  • Gavotte (Boismortier)
  • Musette (JS Bach)
  • Entr’acte from Rosamunde (Schubert)
  • Autumn from The Four Seasons (Vivaldi)
  • Menuetto from KV166 (Mozart)
  • Illumina Oculos Meos (Palestrina)
  • Minuet and Trio (Pleyel)

Hear some snippets (YouTube video – opens in new window)

The download includes three PDF files:

  • Score (transposing) and parts for each tune
  • Concert pitch scores for the complete set
  • Useful extras – cover sheet, contents list, guidance notes

Depending on your particular circumstances, you may not wish to print out all the material – but do keep back-ups of all three files for reference or future use!